2024 Texan of the Year

Governor Greg Abbott

Past recipients

Governor Greg Abbott was named the 2024 Texan of the Year by the Texas Legislative Conference, the renowned annual statewide policy and business forum celebrating its 58th year in 2024.  

The Texas Legislative Conference, a nonpartisan assembly of Texas business and political leaders, gathers annually in New Braunfels to address vital public policy concerns. This year’s panel discussions will highlight education and workforce, the Texas wine and whiskey industries, and new media. The conference also anticipates exploring discussions on artificial intelligence, providing an insightful perspective on this emerging topic.

Governor Abbott joined a distinguished list of past honorees on March 21, 2024, including presidents, U.S. senators, entertainers, governors, and business icons. He will be honored as the 50th Texan of the Year recipient in the history of the conference.

 “The contributions of Governor Abbott to our great state are immeasurable,” said Conference Chair Diane Rath. “His dedication to preserving Texas values and ensuring our continued prosperity is a testament to his leadership over the years.”

Governor Abbott was recognized as the "Best Governor in the Nation" in 2020, building upon his record as a strong conservative leader who fights to protect Texas values and maintain Texas as the ultimate place to live, work, and raise a family.

Throughout his tenure, Governor Abbott has consistently championed job creation, economic growth, education, individual liberties, and border security in Texas. His leadership has propelled Texas to become the top state for business, fostering economic diversification. With a history of delivering on his promises, including significant accomplishments in public education, tax relief, and healthcare access, Governor Abbott's extensive public service experience, which includes serving as the 48th Governor of Texas and the state's longest-serving Attorney General, underscores his unwavering commitment to building a brighter future for Texas.

Rath emphasizes, "Abbott marks the 50th distinguished Texan of the Year honoree in the conference's history. It's truly fitting that we celebrate this significant milestone with such a deserving recipient."

Media contact

Alyssa Coker, Program Director
(830) 608-2814