Media kit

Media inquiries

Contact: Alyssa Coker,, (830) 608-2814

About the Texas Legislative Conference

The Texas Legislative Conference is a non-partisan annual assembly of Texas business and political leaders who gather in New Braunfels to facilitate a statewide discussion on the issues affecting our state. It is a two-day event that honors individuals whose impact has changed the face of public affairs in Texas and provides the opportunity to hear elected officials and subject matter experts offer their insights. It was founded in 1967 by the Greater New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce. 

About the Texan of the Year award

Criteria: Any living Texan who has made the commitment to public service for the benefit of the State of Texas. This service may have been accomplished while in elected office, appointed office, and/or as a volunteer leader. The recipient cannot be an announced candidate for public office at the time selected and must agree to be present at the conference to accept the award.

Past recipients >


Media has permission to use the following photos for publication. The photographs may not be used in materials, advertisements, products, or promotions that in any way suggest approval or endorsement by the Texas Legislative Conference or the New Braunfels Chamber. All Images used must be credited to the Texas Legislative Conference. 

George Strait accepts the Texan of the Year Award in 2018 for his fundraising efforts for Hurricane Harvey relief. 

United States Senator John Cornyn is awarded the Texan of the Year Award in 2016 for his distinguished career serving the people of Texas and his effective leadership in Washington, D.C.

The 50th Texas Legislative Conference in 2016 included a Texan of the Year Reunion. Pictured (left to right): David Dewhurst, Bill Archer, Ray Perryman, Max Sherman, Joe Straus, Phil Graham, Ray Benson, and Red McCombs (front). 

In 2015, First Lady Laura Bush accepted her Texan of the Year Award from 2005. Ten years earlier when she was named the Texan of the Year, she was scheduled to attend the Conference to accept the award, however, Pope John Paul II passed away five days prior to the Conference. She missed the Conference to attend his funeral but was able to accept her award in 2015. 

A panel on Federal Intervention & Texas Infrastructure from the 2015 Texas Legislative Conference. Pictured (left to right): Evan Smith of the Texas Tribune, State Senator Brandon Creighton, State Representative Donna Howard, Mike Nasi of Jackson Walker, LLP, and TCEQ Chairman Bryan Shaw. 

Texas State Comptroller Glenn Hegar delivered the keynote address in 2017.