Small Business Person

Since 1990, the Small Business Person of the Year Award has recognized the outstanding contributions of small business people to the economy and overall progress of the New Braunfels trade area. To be eligible for nomination, the business person must meet the following criteria:

  • Must own their business for a minimum of five years;
  • Must be a member of the Greater New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce for a minimum of five years;
  • Must have been in the same business for a minimum of five years;
  • Must exhibit community involvement for a minimum of five years; and
  • Must have employed fewer than 50 employees during the past five years.

Selection for the award is based on evidence of an individual’s successful operation of a company and evidence of significant contribution to the community.

2024-2025 Small Business Week sponsors

Frost bank logo
Matt Gandrud State Farm
Seidel Properties
SB Trust
2024 Small Business Person of the Year

Kat Balmos, The Local

Members of the Chamber’s Executive and Small Business Week committees surprised Kat Balmos with the announcement that she was named the 2024 Small Business Person of the Year.

Past recipients

2023 Myra Zunker, Chandelier of Gruene
2022 Art Brinkkoeter, Brinkkoeter Transmission & Lube
2021 Glenn Griffin, Griffin Asset Management
2020 April Ryan and Ashley Landerman, 2tarts Bakery
2019 J.P. Kesselring, Farmers Insurance Agency of J.P. Kesselring
2018 Natalie Rougeux, Rougeux & Associates, PLLC
2017 Justin Meadows, Justin Meadows State Farm
2016 Nathan Manlove, The AMMO Group
2015 Soriya Estes, Estes Audiology
2014 Kent Fischer, Fischer Veterinary Clinic
2013 Matt Kyle, The Kyle Law Firm
2012 Ken & Lisa Brucks, Prodigy Learning Center & Child Care Center
2011 Robin Jeffers, J&R Gymnastics
2010 Ernie Jergins, Ernesto’s Jewelry
2009 John Guenzel, Rio Raft & Resort
2008 Dee and Terry Buck, Buck Pottery
2007 Judi & Cecil Eager, Gruene Mansion Inn
2006 Miles Granzin, Granzin BBQ
2005 Donna Scheele, Property Management Professionals, Inc.
2004 Trudy Soechting, Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch
2003 Doug & Anne Miller, Miller & Miller Insurance Agency
2002 Lester Stockhorst, PRINT IT
2001 Adam & Karen Cork, Color Express
2000 Don & Lynn Forres, Huisache Grill
1999 Carol Johnson, Johnson Furniture/Innerworks
1998 Randy Vanstory, Quick Align
1997 Pam Kraft, Kraft Mobiletel
1996 Larry Wenzel, Creative Eyewear by Larry
1995 Rusty Brandt, ‘Tis The Season
1994 Kyra Brandt, Comal Flower Shop on the Plaza
1993 Cash & Dennis Hermes, Centex Office Plus
1992 Bob Schima, Henne Hardware
1991 Marian Benson, The Collection
1990 Mary Jane Nalley, The Gristmill River Restaurant and Bar
Sign up for Our Newsletter

Stay in the know

Sign up to receive our weekly newsletter!

Chamber Awards

Honoring people

Recognizing people who have made positive impacts.